The history of Doc Martens iconic boots and why they now suck

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2023/05/24/the-history-of-doc-martens-iconic-boots-and-why-they-now-suck.html

8 Likes

Wait… tough, working class skins were wearing little old lady boots?!?

gene wilder thinking GIF

That’s pretty interesting!

7 Likes

Alexei knows.

11 Likes

Video isn’t playing for me, but I’m sure I can guess why.

I have been buying Blundstone boots for around two decades. I used to have the boots for years. Now I’m lucky if I can get 1½ out of them. They used to repair the soles themselves. Now no longer.

7 Likes

I have a pair of Vasque Sundowner boots that I’ve worn for close to 30 years now. Other than being scuffed up in spots and the heel a bit run down, they are still almost pristine. Give me quality over style any day.

ETA: Just read that Vasque (owned by Red Wing) shifted production to Asia back around 2003 or so and the newer Sundowner models have lots of complaints about the soles splitting and separating. There goes another one…*sigh.

9 Likes

Your favorite footwear company and products turned to shite?

Untitled

There was a time when Reeboks were comfortable long-lasting shoes not made by slave labor.

16 Likes

I had a pair of Docs black working man shoes I bought in London 25 years ago that I absolutely loved. So comfortable. Then a few years ago I bought a pair of pull on boots from a Doc store in Seattle. A few months later the pull strap ripped off the back of one of them. I went back into the store and “the regional manager” was there training employees. I told her (and the employees) what was going on, and she took the opportunity to show the employees how it’s done. “Cool! That just makes them look more rugged and lived in!” I told her I didn’t want rugged and lived in. I wanted functional boots. Her tone changed. “Six months is a long time to have some boots and complain about them. You should really treat your boots better.”