The inventor of the Web doesn't want you to use a VPN

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/04/04/the-inventor-of-the-web-doesn.html

4 Likes

Woo hoo! Tim says I’m an expert!

23 Likes

We’ve never been prouder of you.

pat pat

24 Likes

I’ll trust the guy with technology implementation, but not policy, politics, or protest. Giving in to abuse isn’t the best way to protest being abused. This isn’t Gandhi or MLK pacifism. The abusers don’t care if they look bad and the abuse isn’t physically bad so it just looks like a first world problem to a lot of people. Use a VPN and vote for politicians who are actually on your side (e.g. Ron Wyden).

16 Likes

He also support DRM , I think something must have happened …

18 Likes

a) my representatives and comcast don’t give a rat’s ass about what I think
b) I have a choice between comcast and maybe a dialup isp if one is still in my area.

So I have very little chance of my “protest” being effective.

29 Likes

He might not but that’s kind of irrelevant. He’s suggesting that maybe we protest instead of fighting, but right now someone just drove a tank through my internet privacy, it’s time to hold up a shield while I work on defunding the gas for the tank.

16 Likes

“The energy (to change ISP’s)”. Or, you know, choose between comcast, or…comcast.
And of course, I also take exception to the equivalence between VPN’s and “cheating”. How is it cheating, exactly, to alter my data’s form?

This is beyond ivory tower shit, this is a message from a different world entirely.

20 Likes

“Normal people in America” are still using “password” as their password.

19 Likes

I get his point (and still use a VPN). I think what he is trying to get at is that the response to an oppressive policy isn’t to build better evasion tech - it is to change the policy to something reasonable again.