There's a word for senior men who pass the time watching construction sites

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/10/07/theres-a-word-for-senior-men-who-pass-the-time-watching-construction-sites.html

11 Likes

The Old have always been the comment thread of reality.

23 Likes

I thought you were going to say isolated by society or lonely.

9 Likes

Unqualified old White men telling folks what to do.

Imagine that !

11 Likes

They deserve extra cosmic turn-about credit if they make cat-calls/whistles back at the construction folks (“Whoo shake that number 416E bucket excavator!” “You old fool! That’s not a 416 that’s a 420!”)

9 Likes

This hits too close to home. I recently retired (2 months) and so far have avoided this. I was a mechanic for 40 years and everyone in the field hates when people come by to comment. As I was approaching retirement age and other mechanics asked me what I was going to do with my time, I would always answer I will walk around and find worksites and say things like"I used to have a wrench like that" and “Do they still use victraulic fitting”.

While out yesterday I saw a guy replacing a residential A/C condensing unit.I did not say a word, and kept walking. Hope I can keep it up but you know “Glory Days”!

52 Likes

“Umarell … is a folk term in Bologna referring specifically to men of retirement age who pass the time watching construction sites, especially roadworks — stereotypically with hands clasped behind their back and offering unwanted advice.”

There’s already a term for that… no matter the activity involved or the observer’s age: Kibbitzer

16 Likes

30 Likes

Not necessarily. Maybe the wife doesn’t want him hanging around the house offering her advice. There’s also the social aspect, yakking with other old guys standing around. Many working-class guys who spent a life working hard find it difficult to occupy their time when retired and maybe didn’t develop enough hobbies.

11 Likes