This YouTuber introduced me to an amazing steak

Originally published at: This YouTuber introduced me to an amazing steak | Boing Boing

6 Likes

It’s spelled “Picanha”.

3 Likes

Interesting how he sears after “baking” instead of before. I’d have to try both ways to see if there’s a specific advantage, but it’s definitely the best method I’ve discovered for steak.

4 Likes

Thank you. Fixed.

I’m no expert, but wouldn’t it be better to take the small steaks off first, because they required less cooking time according to mass?

2 Likes

The reverse sear, as it’s called, dries out the outer surfaces allowing you to get a darker, thinner crust when you do sear it at the end.

2 Likes

I tried one of these recently.

I had been given a big gift card for Snake River Farms for ExMess. Poking around their Picanha was one of their best value and best regarded options.

So I added an American Wagyu Black Grade Piranha to my order.

And it was a hell of a piece of meat, but way less impressive than most of the other cuts I ordered from them. I very carefully seared them on this little konro I picked up around that time, over Pok Pok charcoal and then made tacos.

I’ve since come to find out Gunga Foods, under their other channel Sous Vide everything, is pretty much solely responsible for popularizing that cut on American Internet. It’s a very popular cut in Brazil. And probably under sung elsewhere, but it’s just rump steak (ETA: or rump cap) in English. The round muscle at the edge of those cross cut sirloins you see. Or used to, I miss those and would probably take one over Picanha. Great tacos, but not all that different than sirloin I’ve had of similar grade.

But “rivals wagyu” seems to be Gunga’s SEO catch phrase. It seems like everything he’s promoting is either wagyu or “better than wagyu”, and he seems to have rather heavy promotional relationships with meat suppliers (including Snake River Farms).