Trump's Justice Department tells court to block California net neutrality law

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/08/05/net-neutrality-california.html

California AG office reviewing DoJ filing, “[We] look forward to defending California’s state net neutrality protections.”

3 Likes

please help me understand how a federal law that was REPEALED can be used to block state law. doesn’t the fact that a law that was REPEALED mean that the law doesn’t exist any more? obviously i am not a lawyer.

11 Likes

It wasn’t a federal law that was repealed but rather agency rules. The US Court of Appeals has already said the FCC could not stop individual states from passing such laws, so I don’t see this going anywhere.

So much for the state’s rights party…

24 Likes

It’s the party of trump anything else has been thrown away months ago.

It’s a free for all.

13 Likes

Both parties are and have been “corporate rights” parties for a while now, just the Republicans are more blatant and aggressive about it.

(Not saying both parties are the same in any way, just that they are very similar in this regard)

13 Likes

For all its talk of secession, anyone else get the feeling Texas/“The South” is going to get beaten to the punch by Cali?

11 Likes

The Republicans have never actually defended “States’ Rights” except in cases when states demand the right to oppress women, religious and ethnic minorities or LGBT people.

31 Likes

Help me understand, for I am not a lawyer. How does the federal government have standing in this case when they aren’t the offended party?

I could see it if a business was impacted by this California law, and they could file a case to overturn the law on the basis of some aspect of states overstepping their authority when it comes to federal regulations. At that point a precedent can be set.