"Ultimate Slip 'N Slide" Pulled From Olympic Lineup After Explosive Diarrhea Outbreak

Originally published at: "Ultimate Slip 'N Slide" Pulled From Olympic Lineup After Explosive Diarrhea Outbreak | Boing Boing

4 Likes

As a Ventura County resident, I know its always a good sign when I read about the work of our Public Health department on BoingBoing.

Where exactly is this set I wonder (but not enough to try Googling it)?

At least Funches still has that sweet King Shark role and that Netflix marijuana cooking show hosting gig

1 Like

CDC to the rescue!

10 Likes

Reboing:

3 Likes

explosive diarrhea

Bad name for a band.

3 Likes

:man_facepalming:

3 Likes

I don’t know, that could go either way…

“That band is the shit!”
or
“That band is shit!”

2 Likes

Thanks for the reminder, I need to re-up my antibiotics for my BWCA first aid kit. I always bring something for Giardia with me, as well as something for Lyme in case we find an embedded tick.

Why not just pivot the format to “Ultimate Slip’n’Slide’n’Shit Right Through Your Pants”? It’d be ratings gold, and it’s not as if we live in some fancy age where the cultural bar is set too high.

Came here to say this.

1 Like

The article seems somewhat confused about the site being infected. I believe that giardia amoebas and cysts are fairly common in soil anywhere in California where livestock or rodents like ground-squirrels have been. often water-borne, but certainly not exclusively. And among people, the most common route of transmission is poor hygiene, i.e., food preparers who have not washed their hands after pooping.

Having suffered giardiasis when traveling the subcontinent, I can sympathize with the victims. It’s a weird ailment, where some mornings at 10am, I was hit with massive cramps, gassiness, and the liquishits. The next day, there’d be few or no symptoms. I’d be relived, thinking I’d finally gotten over it. Then, the next day, bam! This went on for weeks.