Using D&D in therapy to get kids to open up

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/02/10/using-dd-in-therapy-to-get-ki.html

10 Likes

“Using D&D in therapy to get kids to open up.”

In 1995 as I finished my psychology degree I was playing a lot of single player D&D style games. My focus had been on therapy for children. Primarily art and music therapy. But I could see how the games I was playing in my free time could be retooled for therapy. For example, a therapist would be able to speak through any NPC’s like a much cooler variation of sock puppet therapy. The campaign could be tailored to expressing and exploring a person’s fears and feelings.

So the Monday after I finished my psych degree I started a post bac in CIS. Best choice I ever made. But sadly, I never found the time to work on the therapy game idea.

12 Likes

My son is 21 now but when he was a teenager one of his therapists made group therapy with D&D to help him and the other kids deal with their issues and it was amazing. The results at home were very noticeable. I am grateful to that therapist.

7 Likes

I think this approach with D&D is better than my old idea. Building and altering software takes time. D&D can be altered on the fly by a good DM. Same strengths without the overhead.

6 Likes

With as much role-playing that already goes on in therapeutic settings, it seems like a great fit. My therapist that I went to after my parents were divorced when I was about 10 didn’t use D&D per se, but all I remember from working with him was drawing on the floor on huge sheets of paper and talking about Redwall books. I still miss that dude.

I love that the explosion of D&D podcasts allows a diverse, intelligent and sensitive group of people to not only share actual-plays but also to just talk about what play means to them. The value seems undeniable.

6 Likes