Video: How shrooms make you trip

[Permalink]

FYI this video contains a major error. Note that I am not an expert, but have just read my Terence McKenna. While the topic of the presentation is exclusively the plain brown Psilocybin mushroom, the drawing continuously depicts the colorful red capped Amanita Muscaria, or fly agaric. These are VERY different species and are not to be confused. Amanita has a unique psychotropic mechanism that is not well understood. It has been used for shamanic rituals and Wasson argued that it was actually the mythical Soma, but it must be prepared properly for psychedelic use. Just in case anyone wanted to go foraging after watching this: you are looking for the ugly brown fellas that grow in around cow poop, and not the beautiful Alice in Wonderland toadstools. Those could kill ya if you aren’t careful.

2 Likes

Great, now I really want to do shroorms at least once!

When the police tase me nude screaming at pink cthulhu in the middle of a soccer game I will tell the “The Internet told me to”.

And it will be YOUR fault! (not mine)

So… anybody knows where can a gentlemen purchase those myconic pleasures?

1 Like

You will be far too distracted by your own brain to go running nude into a soccer games.

Just go look for some cow poop. Thats where SWIM said you could find them.

You’re correct that the mushroom illustrations in the video look a lot more like Amanita muscaria than any Psilocybe or other psilocybin-containing species. However, A. muscaria is not deadly, despite what some older guide books say. It doesn’t contain the amatoxins present in A. phalloides (AKA the death cap) and friends.