Watch this incredible Taekwondo 720° spinning kick to break four boards

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/04/23/watch-this-incredible-taekwond.html

3 Likes

Dude is a gymnast.

4 Likes

“What are you DOING??!! Those were perfectly good boards, I was going to make a small shelving unit!”

14 Likes

I replayed that twice so I could have my wife listen to the way the guy screams. That’s quite the scream.

1 Like

I earned a 2nd degree black belt in Taekwondo, and I can tell you this is even more awesome than it looks. Note that each board is being held one-handed. That makes them much, much harder to break, because the tendency is for the board to fly out of the hand without breaking. You have to kick a lot faster to make up for that. He does it so well that the board holders were able to maintain their grip on every board.

3 Likes

No they weren’t - the boards they use for those demos are thin, light and basically fabricated to break with the slightest impact. This doesn’t take away from the man’s incredible agility and accuracy, though.

2 Likes

watch in 1/4 speed, he kicks two boards with each foot

1 Like

[very calculator noises]

THE MATH WORKS OUT!

4 Likes

d36b82531bb3b70be1ba44c6a9ec39ee6495f165c8db29feca2880d5b6fca3f2

Video link for the BBS
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5r0kY_lXGcw

1 Like

No they weren’t - the boards they use for those demos are thin, light and basically fabricated to break with the slightest impact.

Not when I was training. We used regular pine 1 x 12 boards from a lumber yard. Is is very easy to NOT break the boards if you don’t use proper technique.

1 Like

Yep. All I’ve ever used were 1x12 or similar dimensional.

1 Like