Weird 19th-century painting, allegedly by Manet, removed from auction

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/11/02/weird-19th-century-painting-a.html

5 Likes

a staring, mouthless mystery mammal.

It’s a dog, Rob.

60 Likes

And it really obviously has a mouth. Are we cursed, or is Rob?

36 Likes

He’s European, Rob.

18 Likes

A small black and tan dog with some blue merle around the mouth. Not unlike my dog.

4 Likes

It looked better before the cleaning lady messed it up.

54 Likes

Close up it looks more like a panther, but I see a nose and mouth-possessing dog face.

manet-boy-1-1

8 Likes

I am not an art expert, but the weird eyes and flat face do not look like the work of a master like Manet. I bet it’s a fake. The stipulation:

“entitled the anonymous claimant to a share of the profits should the painting ever be attributed to Manet”

sounds like there is a good chance there was some chicanery going on. They didn’t know whether it could be sold as a Manet? That means they have no provenance and no proof. Maybe there was some kind of bet between the two that it could be passed as a Manet?

9 Likes

Nonsense: the beast clearly has two buck teeth and an open mouth with a chalky-white tongue and the row of teeth on its lower jaw exposed:

manet_maw

3 Likes

I can kind of imagine Manet furiously painting for about an hour, then stepping back and saying, “I just can’t get that face to come together at all. Screw this, I’m starting over.”

16 Likes

The assertions soothed with an air of confidence. This painting was like any other. Nothing more than a quaint depiction of that classic duo: a boy and his dog. Nothing of note.