Why do Checkers and Rally's have different names?

Originally published at: Why do Checkers and Rally's have different names? | Boing Boing

1 Like

Man, that was some impressive topic drift.

5 Likes

Company A bought company B, company B had brand recognition and a significant customer base. Company A not being stupid kept the name of company B.

I am not good at dragging out a simple explanation.

16 Likes

Something that I’ve noticed in a few places I’ve lived is that when a Rally’s/Checkers closes down for good, they leave behind a structure that is extremely difficult to repurpose. There’s one in my hometown that closed in the late 90’s and it still sits vacant and blighted.

7 Likes

Seems to me that if a Rally’s closed down, it would be pretty easy for a Checkers to come in and take its place.

10 Likes

I think Carl’s Jr. and Hardee’s is essentially the same story. One bought the other. They both have their fan base based on regions. Keep the names and introduce menu items between the two.

14 Likes

If there are regional differences, why not just put a K or a W in front of the name? :man_shrugging: /s

21 Likes

Chief Big Wheel would like to put in a word.

1 Like

IDK. Old 1960s-1970s Taco Bells with their unique mission-style are currently repurposed and being used all over SoCal as independent Mexican food restaurants. The irony is that you expect crappy Mexican food but instead the food is quite tasty.

13 Likes

Possibly, with the rise of ghost kitchens and lack of servers, more chef/owners can retrofit different kitchen equipment (if necessary) and run to-go restaurants.

4 Likes

I moved from the east coast to the west coast last and realized many grocery brands have different names. Hellman’s mayo is Best Foods there. There’s several others like that. And Hardee’s was bought by Carl’s Jr. and it keeps its old name in the Midwest even though it’s pretty much identical now.

4 Likes

Not to mention old Pizza Hut buildings…

13 Likes