With no bridge, girls zipline across a river, on a scooter

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/08/13/with-no-bridge-girls-zipline.html

10 Likes

I love that the zipline operator is like eight?

36 Likes

I’m no engineer, but I’m pretty sure those handlebars were not designed to carry the full load of the bike with two passengers. Scary.

17 Likes

“Ok, little tiny child rigger, just let me know when we’re ready so I can take off my helmet!”

32 Likes

MediEvel Knievel

15 Likes

Yeah, that’s what got me. Pulling funny stuff like this is fine, but if you have a helmet, wear it.

Of course, when I was in Thailand I saw sooo many scooters with 5+ people on them (mostly kids) in heavy, fast traffic with no helmets. At least if that kiddo fell off she’d land in water.

8 Likes

In the middle of all the Indonesian, in plain English, “Oh my gosh.”

14 Likes

That’s what I love about kids, no fear, unrestricted by all the “what ifs you fall, drown blah blah”. It’s just, “this looks like fun”, lets do it. Good on you Kids and have fun coming back. Just wait till your mother sees this, You’re grounded, don’t you ever do that again, what if what if. Hah!What if you laughed like looks and had a ball.

4 Likes

Last time I did a zip line in the Philippines I was wearing a large photography backpack full of still and video gear plus a Macbook pro and its accessories. Didn’t realize until I was zipping that it would mess up my center of gravity resulting in me flipping upside down. To stay right-side-up I needed to do a sustained pull-up for the 8+ minutes it took to get across. The view was beautiful despite the struggle to stay upright. Also, I’m not a fan of heights.

11 Likes

It kind of seems like this was a regular occurrence, as the ropes they attached to the scooter seemed to have been designed - or jury rigged, anyways - for exactly that purpose. Still - yikes!