Your favorite outdoor tool

To all the outsdoorspeople out there. What is the one essential tool you can’t do without?

Full disclosure: I am not an outdoorsy expert - far from it.
But my nephew (and a couple of his friends) are mad for “wild camping” (whatever that is).
They’ve just come back from Wales (yeah, I know, at this time of year, brrr).

It’s getting close to Xmas and I’d like to get him something useful and cool.
So, slightly selfish reason for creating this post, but thought it might be fun also.
Calling all Grizzly Adams / Bear Grylls types…

5 Likes

tenor

Corkscrew, bottle opener, tin opener.
What more does one need?

8 Likes

That is very much my kind of outdoorsy, TBH.

7 Likes

Bottoms up!

5 Likes

I would argue that the aim is to strip away any non-essentials, so all outdoor tools meet your criterion.

But since that is a totally unhelpful reply, one item that comes to mind is a stove

Bottles and tins to open?

2 Likes

That’s why I do my camping in an empty lot behind an ALDI.

7 Likes

I don’t own one, but if I was looking for a present for an outdoorsy person, I’d go for a Gränsfors Bruks or Hultafors axe.

Probably the outdoor or hunting ranges.

Another really cool thing (and maybe more unique) are Japanese outdoor axes like this one

4 Likes

A decent machete. Handy for thwacking away small branches, clearing annoying twigs and undergrowth at the campsite, and its sturdy enough for chopping firewood and can be used to split logs if you step on the back of it.

You dont need to go fancy. Do get one with a long-ish blade. I keep mine tucked up inside my rucksack frame and can remove it for use without having to take off my pack.

5 Likes

What does UK knife law make of machetes? Genuine question.

Also, if you want the local equivalent, I’d go for a billhook in whatever style is local to you

6 Likes

Tactical fluffy hand warmer.

5 Likes

I’m not in the UK, but yes a good point indeed.