Opinion: Yahoo's new logo reveals the worst aspects of engineering mindset

[Permalink]

Very well written essay.

My twin brother is an engineer and I am a graphic designer. I don’t think it’s a stretch to say that everyone would be much worse off if we were forced to do each others’ jobs.

5 Likes

But in this case, you’d just be a weekend engineer – makes all the difference!

Not likely—he’s a mechanical engineer in charge of ride safety at Disneyland, where weekend crowds are even bigger. The streets would run red with the blood of tourists mangled by poorly maintained Matterhorn bobsleds and malfunctioning pirates.

9 Likes

I swear they just recently changed the logo to look like some kind of Cooper Black; or maybe it was just something for the mail. Anyways I have to say the old one was [comparatively much better].1

1 Like

Just a wrong font choice is all. Everyone knows that Helvetica is the font of choice for the world. As shown in the documentary “Helvatica” LOL

Wow. I read Marissa’s writeup and immediately cringed. She was personally involved on the design? Wow. No offense to her, she’s accomplished amazing things, but I agree with Glenn on this one, and part of the reason I cringe is because she’s not only not a designer, she’s the boss. Why hire people to design things if you’re going to micromanage the process?