Will people on the street drink raw eggs like Rocky Balboa?

[Permalink]

I drink them floating on orange juice.

General US statistics say there’s about 1 chance in 20,000 of getting salmonella from a raw egg. It’s pretty correlated with batches of eggs, so either none of the people who take you up on it will get it, or a bunch of them will.

If you’ve got an accurate enough cooking thermometer, you can pasteurize the eggs yourself - put them in hot water at N degrees for M minutes (I think it was 160 and 10, but you need to check, or you’ll end up with soft-boiled or not-actually-pasteurized eggs.)

1 Like

I’ve also read - here, I think - that industrial egg farms use a washing method that makes the eggs much more susceptible. But hey, I’m no scientist…

1 Like

I don’t worry much about it. I’ve been OK when literally dozens of people who ate the same food I did (undercooked chicken) were grievously stricken with salmonella. I probably have a decent tolerance, if you can have such a thing.

I’ve occasionally felt like I wanted to die from food poisoning (I cannot recommend the Fisherman’s Platter at Legal Seafood in the Logan Airport) but I always recovered… I’m more likely to get shot by a cop or killed in an accident than die of food poisoning, despite my fondness for raw beef and raw eggs.

1 Like

You can eliminate the risk entirely by adding a cup of glyphosate to the raw egg.

12 Likes

Did you get that tip from the Food Babe?

1 Like

It’s legit – I fact checked it with Mercola and Infowars.

6 Likes

I did this the morning after seeing the original Rocky - granted I was only 12 at the time, and once was enough!

Rob is a smart man. St Paddy’s day levels of alcohol will kill anything in the gut.

1 Like

I would always have failed the food challenge on Fear Factor. No risk that I will ever willingly slurp down a raw egg. In fact, you could probably extract info from me more readily with raw eggs than with water-boarding.

1 Like