3 ways to escape zip ties

[Permalink]

2 Likes

We might be having the RNC in Denver down the road. Should probably save that for a flyer if needed.

4 Likes

I’m no expert, but aren’t law enforcement zip ties sturdier than the ones you get at Home Depot by a fair margin?

3 Likes

There were “3 ways to escape” in the original post, only “2 ways to escape” in the comment thread. Will the twitter link have only “1 way”?

4 Likes

Cop zip ties used as handcuffs typically have two separate zip ties, one per wrist, on a common block. They also do a bit of work to make them less escape-friendly, because they are used on criminals (your grandma protesting the local nuke plant, for example).

11 Likes

If you’re trying to restrain someone, use 2 zip ties, one for each hand, interlocked. At least that’s what the cops did…

3 Likes

If you follow this advice and tighten up the zip ties so that you think you will be able to break them (hint: try this a few times with a friend standing by with a full med kit and shears you’ve already tested against the ties) you may eventually have an unpleasant meeting with Mr. Gangrene. Or, if you try hard enough to break them, then possibly his friend Mr. Heavy Bleeding.

Not all zip ties are created equal, and I’m pretty sure law enforcement don’t use the kind you can break without tools. And in the unlikely event I personally zip tie you, I guarantee you won’t be breaking the ones I have hanging up in the barn.

7 Likes

You’ll have to experiment. Home Depot has several types of zipties.

175 lb tensile strength

but yeah, this product claims 600 lbs

Much as I’d hate to patronize a site that supplies pigs, these techniques are badly in need of testing. (Buy a cutter as well).

1 Like

As it goes, my main concern about being detained, kidnapped, or otherwise compromised is that I have nasal polyps that have almost completely blocked off any breathing through the nose, not to mention a side issue of asthma.