A cheap wireless charger for Qi enabled devices

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/06/04/a-cheap-wireless-charger-for-q.html

You should know that Ikea do a Qi charging dingus which is designed to be embedded in a desk, with the wire underneath (they sell desks with an appropriate hole, otherwise you’ll need to also drop like $10 on a hole saw). They also do a free-standing charger for $18, and a couple of different lamps with chargers in the base.

I have something similar to this, its the official samsung wireless one though. I managed to get it for a great deal and the downside to these kinds of chargers is that they inherently will generate heat when working. Not my preference for a charger, especially if i intend to leave the phone on it for a while but for short periods of charging the wireless charger is great.

I’ve been using a Qi charger for at least 6 months and haven’t noticed any heat problems. When playing around I think it’s only a problem with a poor connection and maybe poor equipment or a thick case.

I started with a cheap charger like the one linked. I had to be selective about which USB cable I used, which ac adapter I used, and how I placed it. The lower rated ones wouldn’t work or were really flakey. I ended up tossing it and getting a Samsung Qi stand (that included the adapter), I use Apple’s leather case, and it all works great. My wife has a credit card sleeve on her case and wireless charging doesn’t work at all (I’ve also seen problems with other cases and was kind of surprised mine worked so well).

I do have leather case on mine which might be causing the charger to work a bit harder than it needs to, i don’t know i’m not knowledgeable on said chargers. It works fine for the most part but the heat situation did make me want to use it less. I try not to use it unless i really don’t want to plug in my phone.