Anti-LGTBQ legislation chases a much-needed physician and his family out of Louisiana

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2023/09/01/anti-lgtbq-legislation-chases-a-much-needed-physician-and-his-family-out-of-louisiana.html

8 Likes

Not just anti-LGBTQ legislation driving docs out of red states. These states will struggle to provide healthcare for anyone in the near future. Not that they care, of course.

And on and on and on. I pray that at some point the people will realize what is being done to them. Dems need to hammer on this during this election cycle.

23 Likes

This sort of bullshit was part of the calculation I made in relocating from Virginia to Delaware.

Virginia’s governor is a 45 wannabe and I thank heavens the State Senate is in the hands of Democrats who have been able to fend off a lot of his offensive agenda. Next election, that math might change.

Other factors included being closer to college friends (like Biden, I am a UD grad) and family, lower cost of living, no sales tax, no car tax and lower property taxes. An unexpected bonus is that everything is a 15-minute or less drive away and I can walk from my house in Wilmington to restaurants and shops.

Check out the latest episode of Ali Velshi’s Banned Book Club podcast where he interviews Margaret Atwood and they discuss The Handmaid’s Tale in the light of these recent developments.

23 Likes

And then, a few years from now, corporate media outlets expressing puzzlement and concern about how underserved the (white) residents of these states are by elitist doctors.

18 Likes

While I feel saddened for the people of these states, whose conservative politicians have opted for bigotry and hate at the expense of the health and well being of their constituents, I will eagerly raise my hand and yell “come to Maine, we need you here!” These folks absolutely will find new places that will welcome them with wide open arms AND hearts.

14 Likes