Bad design and bad implementation are blamed for new problems rapidly tilting SF's Millenium Tower

Originally published at: Bad design and bad implementation are blamed for new problems rapidly tilting SF's Millenium Tower | Boing Boing

5 Likes

I’m no mechanical engineer, but I’m going with “dear god that’s terrifying!!!”

29 Likes

Not being an engineer is why you aren’t even more terrified.

24 Likes

Who need isis or the taliban to wreak havoc upon america when we have profiteers cutting corners where ever to make a buck?!!

11 Likes

Osama was a civil engineer, connect the dots. /s

11 Likes

If they end up demolishing it, it will probably be one of the most egg-faced builds in the modern era, in the US at least.

4 Likes

The building is fine, it’s the planet that’s swiftly tilting.

9 Likes

Dangerous skyscraper in NY was discovered by an engineering student, was recognized quickly and fixed:

10 Likes

Time to start up the dismantling crew. I hate to say I told you so, but I told you so.

4 Likes

Gee, who knew rich luxury high rise condo developers who reject other people’s expertise could make bad decisions. Wikipedia tells me a guy who climbed it with suction cups was arrested. AFAIK, the police have not got around to arresting anyone responsible for endangering thousands of residents and the surrounding highly populated neighborhood, because a potentially collapsing skyscraper is nbd compared to the crime of trespassing.

4 Likes

So said numerous experts to the developers, but if those engineers were so smart they’d be rich like them, amirite?

6 Likes

tumblr_n75k50bzpk1suzl23o4_r1_250

6 Likes

Dystopia Mike Jude GIF by Idiocracy

5 Likes

Actually, that’s not true. You love to say “I told you so.” :slight_smile:

5 Likes

No Dude, I hate to say “I told you so”. Your making me tell you “I told you so”. I’m not enjoying “I told you so”…

6 Likes

This was in today’s paper. Not just luxury high-rise condos.