Batman Dark Knight Returns Issue 2, Kayfabe Commentary

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/05/14/batman-dark-knight-returns-iss-2.html

4 Likes

[Foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.]

3 Likes

Okay, if not as bad as Liefeld feet, the lines are at least as bad as John Romita Jr. lines some of the time…

3 Likes

That art still reeks, and the story was rather depressing. No idea why it’s endured to make Batman, in most current titles, a generally horrid excuse for a “hero” these days. It makes me sad that there’s so little fun to the character anymore.

I was a college freshman when it first came out, and it seemed refreshing. Something new, something that shook things up. Bruce Wayne got old, got bitter, and kind of suicidal in a world where Ronny Raygun was president—what is it with Republicans worshipping crazy and incompetent presidents, anyways? But I digress. It came out at a time when superhero comics were boring and bland, were all of the good stuff was happening in the smaller houses like Dark Horse, Kitchen Sink and First Comics, when Dave Sim hadn’t shown what a crazy misogynist and misanthrope he really was. When Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and The Tick were not yet made into television shows.

My take is that everyone learned the wrong lessons from Frank Miller’s Batman works: it wasn’t the dark tone that made it so special, it was the feeling that we were finally seeing how heroes and villains grow old. That time takes its toll. That there was a realistic chance that Bruce Wayne could actually die.