Boy genius will graduate college at age 9

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/11/14/boy-genius-will-graduate-colle.html

7 Likes

I’m not clear on exactly how these things happen. There’s no shortage of classrooms out there where the teacher will (probably quite reasonably) say, “Good job acing the math test, but you need to finish your portion of coloring the class mural today.” I might suspect enormous pressure from the parents and/or educators.

16 Likes

That’s nothing… I got a phd at 40… Wait… fuck!

31 Likes

I don’t know how you keep that kid from being seriously messed up later on. Prodigies learning quantum physics are rarely also learning to negotiate well with peers.

10 Likes

I would rather have you as a prof than the one child math prodigy I had.
He honestly could not grok that the rest of may have issues with understanding what is being taught and if you asked about it he just was gobsmacked that we didn’t just know it already.

I actually changed classes the second time I got him and was glad of it as I found out that he ended up flunking all the undergrads in that class.

22 Likes

Neil Patrick Harris is unimpressed.
412opk5n9YL

15 Likes

I wish I had his memory – but not the experience of going into college that young. I was interested to read that

unlike most nine-year-olds, he has already worked out what he wants to do with his life: develop artificial organs.

OT, but I had happily forgotten this horrible cartoon teeth style:
I hope it’s dead.

5 Likes

I started law school at 50. I should finish in time to work for some predatory law firm for 5 years, get rich, and then retire to a life of pro bono. (Semi-sarcastic…I do need to make some money, but I’ll try to avoid the bad stuff. I like to be able to sleep at night.)

12 Likes

He will basically be completely without normal channels of peer socialization.

This is without even stating the obvious of learning the opposite sex in normal College timing.