Brilliant shot of drone swooping through campus

Originally published at: Brilliant shot of drone swooping through campus | Boing Boing

6 Likes

What drone, what set up, where was the pilot in relation to the drone, how did they not lose the connection?

So many questions.

I get nervous sending my DJI up and no way will I let it out of sight. Not afraid to lose it but afraid to hit something or for it to drop out of the sky and land on someone.

Great video and flying skills.

7 Likes

Impressive control skills. I’d crash within a minute at the outside.

I’m assuming the sound was laid down in post. There’s no way you could get that quality with natsot.

5 Likes

My drone videos would all be in a single take too — because I lack editing and directing skills. :laughing:

3 Likes

As a dilettante sound engineer myself, I was wondering about that too! Especially the occasional swooshy noises flying past monitors and desks - those were the only things that stood out to me as more obviously Foley, but what else?

No wind noise though? And the voices, ADR? I can’t imagine on-board mics getting that level of clarity, but I haven’t done any sound work at all with drones, so I have no real idea.

6 Likes

The making of:

11 Likes

I would assume they recorded each vocal segment locally. People’s voices come into focus too suddenly otherwise. You can record video on the fly like that, sound not so much.

5 Likes

Ubiquitous campus wifi and audio added in post. Can I get a whoop whoop!

3 Likes

Quite astounding. I have so many questions about how this was made; the main one is how absolutely no one in the video seemed to react to having a drone swoop right by them.

2 Likes

That is absolutely amazing skill, esp. the dizzying stairs scene (and pilot being moved in elevator). I’m surprised how little tech is involved, with pilot powering through with pure concentration.

2 Likes