Clever non-lethal mousetrap made from soda bottle

[Read the post]

4 Likes

what happens when another mouse comes along? at least one could escape the trap if there is a heavier mouse in the bottom part. the big bucket trap with rotating bridge catches more and is just as humane.

1 Like

What do you do with the mouse?

2 Likes

In collage I worked as a caretaker; and one of the buildings I worked once a week at had a mouse problem but insisted that I use humane traps (a very vegan, animal rights, radical left leaning bunch). I warned them that unless they check the traps daily the mice will die of thirst and starvation and showed them were the traps were.

Next week all the traps had mice corpses in them… I told them that it was much more humane if they died suddenly from a spring trap, and threw out the humane traps mice corpses and all.

22 Likes

Maybe the bottle could pivot down to another hole that leads to a different place and something like this:

7 Likes

Yes, let’s catch vermin and release them somewhere else so they can invade someone else’s house. What a dick move and illegal.

4 Likes

So instead of killing the mouse, since it’s such an invaluable, non-renewable resource, you taunt it over and over again with the promise of escape that’s denied at the last second.

5 Likes

A great “father son project”??? Well, I (a mum) had been planning on constructing one of these with my daughter, a mouse lover, but I guess now not. Sorry to be the PC police here, but seriously, "is “great project for parents and kids” so much freaking harder to write???

23 Likes

We tried humane traps once. We even took the poor fellas out to a nearby nature reserve to release them.

Then we found out that if you have one mouse in a trap, there are dozens of others hiding in the walls and floors.

We then moves onto a harsh prescription of poison pellets and just let them all die silently in their nests.

No quarter!

6 Likes