Dogs can get a Lyme disease vaccine, why can't you?

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/07/25/dogs-can-get-a-lyme-disease-va.html

So, not to sound incredibly shady, but couldn’t a human just get the dog vaccine?

4 Likes

Would it work?

4 Likes

Anti vaxxers are a special kind of stupid.

16 Likes

Not that I’m a doctor or anything, but assuming it’s a “normal” vaccine it should just be Lyme, but damaged sufficiently to not give you Lyme disease, right? Don’t see why you’d have a difference between dogs and humans aside from maybe dosage.

3 Likes

The same thing happened to me. I got Lyme disease in 2014 which attacked my central nervous system and went after my heart. It slowed to 40bpm when I went to the doctor who sent me immediately to the hospital. Later that night it dipped to 20bpm and my heart arrested. Fortunately I was already in a hospital so doctors and nurses brought me back pretty quickly but I spent a week on the cardiac floor with a pacemaker attached to my neck. I’m fine now since it presented and was treated in a very short timeframe, but I’d gladly get a vaccine for my family, even if I have to pay for it out of pocket. The hospital bill was north of $30,000 (almost all was covered by insurance), so it seems cheaper for the insurance companies to cover 200+ people getting vaccines than 1 person getting what happened to me.

On a somewhat lighter note, however, cardiac arrest was relatively painless. I got woozy and flush in the forehead for 15-20 seconds, then I was out. Had that been the end of me, it would not have been a bad way to go (other than leaving my wife and 8 month old son). It’s nice to know that not every way to die is a Game of Thrones level of pain.

25 Likes