Florian Schneider, co-founder of Kraftwerk, RIP

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/05/06/florian-schneider-co-founder.html

8 Likes

Well, fuck.

14 Likes

Man, that stings. I’ve been playing music for over 50 years. Along the way I’ve acquired and discarded influences like used underpants. Ralf and Florian have been deeply ingrained in my heart and soul since first hearing them in the middle of the night on Australian radio in 1974.
I’ve been listening to a lot of Kraftwerk these last couple of weeks. I’ll be listening to more today.
Hey Florian, thanks for all the great music, the technological advances you guys made in making that music, and imbuing it all with a healthy dose of self deprecating humor.
And of course, for all that’s “Fahn, fahn, fahn…”

17 Likes

Tschüss, Florian.

10 Likes
7 Likes

kraftwerk-robots

:pensive:

21 Likes

TdF was my jam back in the day!
https://youtu.be/Yt3p-F2x7rY

1 Like

Considering how much Florian Schneider and SNL’s Will Forte look alike, I always hoped they would do a Spinal Tap-ish parody of Kraftwerk on “Documentary Now.” I guess it’s never too late. RIP

florian-schneider-of-kraftwerk-totally-looks-like-will-forte-of-snl

4 Likes

There are just a few musicians that I can unequivocally say this about, Ralf and Florian are among them. This truly is the Worst Year Ever.

3 Likes

Ugh, that sucks!

Guess I’ll need to enjoy this again, albeit more wistfully. sigh

2 Likes

I
Can’t
Take
This
Anymore

2 Likes
8 Likes

Getting to see Kraftwerk perform a few years ago was really quite a peak experience, after decades of intense interest in electronic music. Wow. Let me tell you, I was just humming during and after that show! I still have the sorta-3D specs they gave you for the video.