Florida issues storm evacuations while drivers are warned not to start cars after fuel mix-up

Originally published at: Florida issues storm evacuations while drivers are warned not to start cars after fuel mix-up | Boing Boing

“Don’t start your engine”?
How did these people fill up their cars? Did they push them to the station and then push them back home after filling them?

I know Florida is odd but I’m pretty sure people DROVE to the Gas Station, turned off their cars (maybe), then when filled up, STARTED THE ENGINE and drove home or wherever they were going.

13 Likes

Call me silly, but I start and drive my car every single time I add gas, just to get out of the gas station. And, I’m no mechanic, but aren’t folks who bought that gas already screwed, unless they are still at the gas pump?

13 Likes

or they might be a few blocks away where their car conked out.

12 Likes

I smell a class action suit coming on…

4 Likes

pobably takes time for the gas previously in your tank to mix with the gas you just put in? the longer it sits the more uniform the mixture gets?

the op doesn’t say how the contamination was detected. i’d guess some peoples cars died already…

8 Likes

Yeah, someone’s gunna have to be on the hook for this. Especially if the fuel mix-up fucked up someone’s car. More so if it prevented someone from evacuating and endangered them and their family.

8 Likes

To your point, diesel is heavier than regular unleaded and will sink in the tank, but the lack of homogeneity causes its own problems:

• Because diesel fuel is heavier than gasoline, it can sink to the bottom of your gas tank, resulting in the injection of both gas and diesel into the intake manifold or the cylinder. Depending on the mix, you can get partially-burned diesel fuel which leaves bigtime deposits on pistons, valves and spark plugs. You get a car or truck that runs terrible, and if you keep driving it, you can cause serious damage