Have you ever wondered how to make a tombstone rubbing?

Originally published at: Have you ever wondered how to make a tombstone rubbing? | Boing Boing

I was a Girl Scout, so: no.

13 Likes

The article doesn’t point out an important issues with slate stones: They can rot from the inside. This makes them very fragile, but they may look pristine. Trying to do a rubbing may break the stone entirely.

Rubbings are cool, but the risk of damage to old stones is sometimes too high.

9 Likes

Beat me to it;

I’m a lifelong artist, so “no.”

8 Likes

Wait, did you do other rubbing art as a Girl Scout, or did you do tombstones? Because if it was tombstones, your troop was hella cool.

I was sorta a Brownie for a year or so… my mom was helping out in scouts and I had to tag along as I didn’t have anywhere else to go.

2 Likes

Tombstones, absolutely. Although of course the technique transfers well to leaf rubbings, etc.

6 Likes

Yeah I remember doing leaf rubbings and other things in school. Don’t think I have never done tombstone rubbings. I sort of regret not doing some tombstones at my grandma’s funeral in Texas. Though I did take some pics. We have my great grand parents there as well, and the older tombstones are all in Czech.

6 Likes

Did it as a teen, as part of a week-long summer program in Classics for high-schoolers, at the university that I later attended (and started off as a Classics major at, though I switched to Art and only minored in Classics). We stayed in the dorms and attended lectures on the history of ancient Greece and Rome, numismatics, and what else I can’t recall. One day they bussed us to a very old church and we were directed to an overgrown section of the cemetery with the oldest tombstones, to make rubbings. I believe it was supposed to give us a feel for what it might be like to do field work in archaeology. No idea what ever happened to my rubbing…