Henry Kuttner: long-lost works of a Lovecraft acolyte

[Permalink]

2 Likes

For that price, don’t even think about it, people. Just do it. Kuttner is a joy to discover. My Science Fiction Book Club edition of The Best of Henry Kuttner from the 1970s is One of the Books With Which I Shall Never Part.

2 Likes

Wait, she married a what who did what? And stayed married? Egad.

3 Likes

Holy carp, thanks, Cory!

I’ve been collecting Kuttner since the 1970s, and there’s several here I did not have.

A lot of these are on Gutenberg thanks to the Online Distributed Proofreading Team, who have been digitizing from the old pulps that haven’t had copyright renewed.

2 Likes

I think it would be worth mentioning that one of Kuttner’s more popular pseudonyms was Lewis Padgett, under which he published “Mimsy Were the Borogoves”; he shared it with Moore, and may have shared authorship of the story, along with some of the others listed in the collection.

I’d also be interested in a reasonably objective account of why the stories were withdrawn from publication; Moore’s second husband may have indeed been a controlling jerk, but one other source says that “her second husband, a physician, loathed sf and its denizens and wanted her to have nothing to do with it or writing.” Knowing what we know about certain other (in)famous SF authors, it could have been from her having had her ass grabbed once too often at a convention.

2 Likes

What a great link. Loving the list of pseudonyms, it’s much more complete than mine. Thanks!

1 Like

Excerpt from “The World is Mine”, by Kuttner:

“The little guys came through the machine or whatever it was. You said you hadn’t adjusted it right, so you fixed it.”

“I wonder what I had in mind,” Gallegher pondered.

The Lybblas had finished their milk. “We’re through,” said the fat one. “Now we’ll conquer the world. Where’ll we begin?”