Herschel Walker tells another fantastic lie: "I was an FBI agent"

Originally published at: Herschel Walker tells another fantastic lie: "I was an FBI agent" | Boing Boing

6 Likes

Yes, there is a joke going back to grade school of what “FBI” actually stands for. . . .

From what I know of Walker’s many children it seems he took it literally.

3 Likes

The only thing more pathetic than Walker’s childish lies is that he stands a good chance of getting almost 45%-plus of the votes in Georgia this fall.

13 Likes

I’m guessing his statement wasn’t in a context where a jury would take it seriously, but imagine if someone were to threaten to arrest him under 18 USC section 912:

Whoever falsely assumes or pretends to be an officer or employee acting under the authority of the United States or any department, agency or officer thereof, and acts as such, or in such pretended character demands or obtains any money, paper, document, or thing of value, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than three years, or both.

11 Likes

If he does make it into the Senate, is he then going to claim to be Senate Majority Leader? Or a Supreme Court Justice?

7 Likes

So I know we’re not allowed to assume someone’s mental state, but Walker played about 12 years in the NFL and has dissociative identity disorder with at least 12 different “alters.” (This is cited by him in his book and confirmed by his doctor in that book.) One thing I learned watching my Aunt slowly pass away from Alzheimers is that degenerative brain diseases sometimes put memories in that just aren’t true. They’re just lies inside the head, but to the person telling them, they absolutely are clearly remembering things that their brain is 100% telling them happened.