How female animated characters look with more natural features

[Read the post]

Because cartoons have always been about accurately capturing natural forms.

23 Likes

Some of the edited versions are distinctly Uncanny Valley.

7 Likes

Is it weird that I find every single one of them better after the ‘naturalisation’? I thought it would be the opposite.

21 Likes

I think the edits all look much better than the origianl. And I had no real problem with how they were before but with the edits I feel like it would be possible to approach some of these characters differently. They certainly leave a different impression.

6 Likes

This is very interesting, and I would like to see what it would look like if the idea was taken even further. It feels as though the edits are still very ‘cartoony’. Unfortunately I’m not an artist.

I suspect this would move down the uncanny valley, but at some point climb out again. Very, very curious.

Taken to the other extreme, how far can we move into caricature before it falls apart? Is there a clear boundary, or is this all dependent on culture and exposure?

4 Likes

Now we just have to push for animals to be more realistically portrayed. Of course, that may not end well for some of these animated humans…

2 Likes

To be fair, these are only slightly more natural. Their eyes are now the size of lemur’s eyes, rather than Aye-Aye’s eyes.

25 Likes

I had the same reaction. The edited versions look less like caricatures and more like real people. I guess the caricaturization is a style, but I’d love it if the style shifted in the direction suggested by these edits.

6 Likes

You totally ruined it for me… [note sarcasm]