How to win against the DMV bureacracy

[Read the post]

3 Likes

I’m a grown man that freely admits to being afraid of the DMV, I have my reasons…

3 Likes

“Use Keywords” is great advice. I’ve worked for a couple of companies that I’ve also been a customer of later, and using the old internal vocabulary helps immensely, especially if used casually. “Oh, well, the expectation was set with me that etc etc” works well when dealing with one technology company in particular.

3 Likes

Which is a fairly good roadmap for most things in life.

6 Likes

They’re generally nice people, just frustrating to work with sometimes…

4 Likes

As a lawyer, I say this is good advice but – in dealing with any bureaucracy, a couple of other tips:

• If you can avoid having someone tell you “no”, do so. Better to call back and talk to a different person than to have anyone say “no”, a “no” is often entered into the record.

• Be extremely nice; bureaucrats get beaten up all of the time, a nice person on the end of the other line – no matter how idiotic the situation – is better. These guys usually know how idiotic the problem is, but have little agency to fix it. See if you can get that persons direct line and use it to follow up. They’re often quite happy to have a phone call worth looking forward to.

• Pick up on their name and use it.

7 Likes

Reason dot com?

1 Like

Pretty sure step one is to steal a bus, no?
*I know, it’s not the DMV per se, but still a gov’t transportation authority.

Some people recommend the “Kindly Brontosaurus”.

(Fine, Apatosaurus, whatever.)

1 Like

Curses! You have exposed my anarchocapitalist agenda!

2 Likes

People who do that really annoy me, but then again I’m more reserved than most and definitely not bureaucratic in nature.

1 Like