HOWTO make hydrophobic rain-only street art

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2013/09/20/howto-make-hydrophobic-rain-on.html

I’m going to make a stencil for the sidewalk at the bus stop that says
“I’m only happy” and leave out “When it Rains” part. I want the viewer to be engaged.

Make a few political statements.
“Was this rainstorm brought to you by man made climate change?”

Of course the first thought of some ad guy will be, “Think of the marketing potential!”
“Get your umbrellas and rain gear at Walgreens at 3rd and Market!”

4 Likes

We used to do something like this in NM with spray bottles and vegetable oil.

1 Like

I need to ask if that stuff will protect you from rabies. Thanks, I’ll be going now.

1 Like

It’s not slippery?

Thanks for the post about my rain drawings! I’m an artist in Atlanta and I submitted the video for a Home Depot contest, but I don’t work for them.

Also, it’s not slippery, it’s actually fairly rough.

Nice, I wonder how long it lasts before the never wet coat gets worn down? Does a jet wash remove it?

1 Like

Thanks!

this just made me think of covering a walkway with never wet…
if it rains the walkway will be dry.
it will never get ice because the water wont stay to freeze
if it gets snow you can literally spray it off with a garden hose and it won’t freeze (see above)

wonder how long it would hold up though to summer heat and winter cold…in indiana…

Was it wise to spray that stuff without some sort of respiratory protection?

I’ve heard that it wears away fairly quick. People have sprayed their shoes and stuff and it’s waterproof for a while but then it wears down and fails down the road. Considering how expensive it is to coat shoes and stuff with it, I’m not sure it’s a great long-term solution. But, the stuff is neat and really works if you spray a lot of it. YMMV, of course.