Ireland's referendum results: legalised abortion projected to win "by a landslide"

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/05/25/erin-go-bragh.html

12 Likes

About fucking time.

25 Likes

I have been working on the repeal campaign for 6 years, I was one of the organisers of the march that the BB article’s photo was taken from. And I’m not going to count any chickens before the result is in, the two polls that were published last night have me incredibly emotional. I have so much faith in my fellow countrypeople, that they stood with us, that the other side’s lies, emotional blackmail and seemingly endless budget couldn’t stand up to a grassroots campaign with the facts on our side.

The day of the marriage equality referendum results, I was in Dublin doing a stall for repeal, and so many people came over to me saying “abortion is next”. I would never have said it would be this quick, or this decisive. Of course, this vote isn’t even the end of the campaign but rather the beginning. The referendum only removes the constitutional ban on abortion, and we’ve got a months-long campaign ahead of us to ensure the proposed legislation passes in the Dáil, and an endless one to ensure it doesn’t get diluted, repealed itself, or fucked with by an Irish equivalent of TRAP laws.

58 Likes

Thank you!

11 Likes

You’ve gone above and beyond in the cause of creating an enlightened society. Well done!!!

13 Likes

I’ll just say good job. I’ve family over there that were pretty active in the marches and supporting your campaign and others for this repeal.

Just a couple days after the marriage equality vote I was on the BBS saying it was unlikely that’d we’d see significant change on this because of the “its more complicated” bits you reference and the way these subjects butt up on the church/state and secularization issues in Ireland. You worked hard and proved me wrong.

And for the Americans who might try to get smug on this I’ll say this: