IRS admits it sent some $1,200 stimulus checks to non-Americans, and probably will again

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/11/30/irs-admits-it-sent-some-1200-stimulus-checks-to-non-americans-and-probably-will-again.html

1 Like

Did the checks stimulate the economy?

3 Likes

Good?

2 Likes

So, only foreign citizens from non-shithole countries?

1 Like

There are lots of people legitimately living and working (or were working pre COVID) who are not citizens or green card path. (non-immigrant visas) I was primarily living in the states for about 8 years and I only know my expensive accountant (multi country returns are complex) figured out which years I was a tax resident or non tax resident. I can totally see someone filing the wrong type of return.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, but it seems unfair that people living in the states and paying taxes (including social security they will never see) would not be entitled to the stimulus check.

1 Like

I absolutely guarantee that the total stimulus amount sent erroneously to non-Americans (or to scammers or whoever else wasn’t entitled) is vanishingly small fraction of the amount that Jeff Bezos’ net worth increased during the time it took for you to read this post.

5 Likes

Seems like if this is a big concern you flag checks going to foreign addresses for increased scrutiny. The increased scrutiny would probably cost more than just sending them though.

1 Like

I mean, so what? There’s going to be a little “spillage” in any massive human endeavor like this. If it still helped huge numbers of people, it was a success.

The problem is that, now that this is being reported on, Republicans will use it as an excuse to prevent sending any more payouts. Perfect is the enemy of done, and imperfection is the Republican tool of obstruction.

8 Likes

11th-doc-this|nullxnull