Millions of pandemic stimulus payments were deposited in wrong customer accounts due to IRS error, says TurboTax

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2021/01/07/millions-of-pandemic-stimulus-payments-were-deposited-in-wrong-customer-accounts-due-to-irs-error-says-turbotax.html

2 Likes

Great, now did I already get mine, or did I get someone else’s?

11 Likes

I got yours. Thanks for the new iPhone!

10 Likes

I got a deposit on Jan 6 for the expected amount. Glad I don’t have to deal with the IRS.

8 Likes

Where’s my pocket change, goddamnit!!!

5 Likes

Well I’ve been using the same account for 20 years obvious that I won’t be getting my stimulus payment.

2 Likes

It can only pay to be philosophical these days.

2 Likes

Sheesh. I got mine on the first. In time to send money to Georgia.

Worse, of course, that these idiots are also managing the vaccine rollout.

In the spring they managed to take my tax payment and then send the stimulus within 3 days. Who knows how long it’ll take now.

1 Like

Last time, I didn’t see the stimulus check until August; by the time I got it, I had no idea what the heck the money was for, at first. This time around, already in my account. Go figure…

2 Likes

I was getting nervous that my mom hadn’t gotten her money, so we tried the HEY WHERES MY MONEY app on the IRS website and it told us that they sent it to some random checking account we used one time for her taxes.

My brother’s hasn’t shown up either, so I checked and even though he had the money direct deposited to the correct account last time they mailed him a check yesterday (or so they say). So we’ll see…

1 Like

I got mine, but it was sent to my old bank account - which I hadn’t gotten around to closing yet. Procrastination wins again!

1 Like