Is it normal to hate your own writing?

Just a thing I’m trying to come to terms with while trying to force myself to write. Out of everything I’ve written, almost none of it doesn’t induce some kind of involuntary ‘God I don’t ever want to see this crap again’ reaction. I am told this is normal. I have even repeated the advice I was given about powering through anyway. Thing is I can’t work up the motive to write when I hate all of it once I get down past penciling in world ideas or character background and get to actually writing a story.

If this is normal, how do other people work past it? I’ve ‘won’ nanowrimo several years and I just can’t for the life of me figure out the how of it anymore and I need to start doing again, if for no other reason than to just start doing something again.

6 Likes

If you write for a living? Yes. I’m a journalist. I’ve never had a mentor that didn’t struggle with the self-perceived quality of their writing.

The best piece of advice I received about improving my craft was actually during my short stint in art school. One of my professors quoted Walt Stanchfield, who worked for Disney and mentored a lot of their animators throughout the 70s:

We all have 10,000 bad drawings in us. The sooner we get them out the better.

No one is awesome at anything when they’re starting off but the only way to get better is to do it, and I promise you that you will get better.

And it’s actually a great thing you hate your writing because it means you aren’t delusional about it. You can determine what’s bad writing and what’s good writing, which leads to the second best piece of advice I received from a mentor. You have good taste: