Issues quoting others

Okay I’m not a techie, so I may not know the actual terms for what I am about to describe; so any pedants please suppress that urge to correct my choice of words while simultaneously failing to address the actual concern stated, thanks:

You know how you can highlight a portion of someone’s comment and the option to quote them in a response directly to them pops up?

Well, not that it’s a huge deal, but this isn’t happening consistently anymore for me, and I’m just wondering if it’s some kind of glitch…

5 Likes

I see that on my mobile all the time, but I don’t recall it ever happening on my desktop…

The only problem that I have is that every time that I quote @OtherMichael, it comes out as this:

15 Likes

Yep, that’s how I got this. Do you maybe have NoScript or another Javascript blocker of some kind installed in your web browser?

Ugh… I abhor Noscript.

On my work PC it’s AdBlocker Plus; at home it’s Ublock Origin.

1 Like

Well, perhaps one of those is doing something weird or intermittent; I dunno. You could test the theory by disabling them temporarily while on the BBS and seeing if quoting works right then. Or maybe codinghorror is secretly driving trollies you.

(Edit: What is wrong with me and why am I doing tech support for somebody else’s BBS software?)

4 Likes

I thought the “issues quoting others” might be this one:

When someone has quoted someone, and I try to quote the quote and their response together, it all gets attributed to the responder. Thusly:

Thing I’m reading on my screen:

So I select:

I click the grey “quote reply” box and it comes up like this:

Which seems so wrong, so I type in a clarification in brackets, like this:

Is it the BBS or is it me? I’ve seen this happen in other people’s posts too.

1 Like

FML, if that’s actually the case.

3 Likes