Jail time for police analyst who warned pal encrypted chat app was infiltrated by cops

Originally published at: Corrupt police analyst jailed

4 Likes

I think the coolness of using the secret decoder ring app may have trumped the common sense of we’re less likely to get caught if we don’t discuss crimes on broadcasting/recording devices.

5 Likes

It seems like borderline entrapment, but I don’t know what the UK laws on entrapment are. But in the US, since she only warned her friend after the police planted bogus evidence that implicated her friend, I think there’s an argument for entrapment. A weak argument, but an argument. In layman’s terms, entrapment occurs when the police do something to induce you to commit a crime you would not have otherwise committed if it were not for whatever action the police took. I could be wrong, though. I am no expert in Criminal Law, because it sucks and heavily favors the state.

4 Likes

I know for a fact that plenty of criminals either have people placed, or have suborned people, in the civilian support staff of the police. She’s foolish or unlucky enough to get caught. There’s folks still there with better opsec.

3 Likes

According to the article in the Register, they put her under surveillance and fed her fake intelligence after seeing EncroChat messages mentioning her. IANAL but I imagine that talking to criminals about police operations and capabilities counts as misconduct.

Personally, I think the cops’ mass surveillance should be more illegal than her telling people about it. My gripe is that she just told friends rather than publicly revealing the surveillance.

3 Likes