Listen to the cowboy throat singer

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/06/20/listen-to-the-cowboy-throat-si.html

2 Likes

giphy

16 Likes

All thanks be to youtube! (And Pesco)

I heard this many years ago on a CD compilation of cowboy singers, even played it on college radio, but it wasn’t my CD and it’s been almost twenty years now. But I never forgot how cool and odd it is!

5 Likes

So am I the only one who hears like a tone or a whistle with the throat singing?

2 Likes

His control with the overtone is great. I studied (very briefly) with David Hykes and learned how to do this but damn it’s hard to control. This is amazing. Also - cowboys.

7 Likes

Since you seem familiar with this - did you see my comment? Does overtone make a whistle like tone?

Yes. That whistle is a feature of this kind of singing. If you listen to Gyuto Monks, for example, singing Om, you will hear the same whistle created by many throats. Here’s a youtube video of a woman who is a master of this, and she explains it well.

14 Likes

yeah - what @bluecat said

2 Likes

She explains everything except how it’s done!

2 Likes

Given her hand movements I say she’s playing an invisible theremin at the same time as singing. It’s the only rational explanation! :wink:

6 Likes

The first rule of Polyphonic Overtone Singing club is…

4 Likes

How it’s done… I know how to do it, and vaguely how to teach it.

The first thing to know is what you’re (unconsciously) doing in standard singing. Put your fingers of one hand along the front of your throat, sing a scale, and (more easily if you’re a boy) feel the position of your Adam’s apple match the tone: up top for high notes, down bottom for low notes.

But it doesn’t have to be this way. Try singing a constant tone, but yawn in the middle, and your Adam’s apple will drop even though the actual note doesn’t change. (Certainly the sound changes, but not the note.)