Lovely animation of the virus that melts gypsy moth caterpillars

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/12/30/lovely-animation-of-the-virus.html

3 Likes

OK - I had to see what this looked like:

12 Likes

10 Likes

Well-done video!

“Illustrator and idiot” might just be the best biographical introduction I have seen.

4 Likes

Anyone who lived in southern New England during the early 80’s will remember how walking in the woods on a sunny day it sounded like it was raining. It was raining caterpillar droppings. I remember them so denuding some areas that the larvae used up all available food sources and tried to eat trees that were probably fatal, like blue spruce.

5 Likes

For about a month here in CT this year it sounded like it was raining. It was somewhat pleasant as I would awake to it. Until I remembered what the !@#$ it actually was.

4 Likes

I was a high school Freshman in 1981, when the worst of the outbreaks happened in New England. Our home, in northern Massachusetts near the New Hampshire boarder, sat right on the edge of a Mass. State Forest which went on for five miles behind our house (and where my siblings and I primarily spent our playtime, needless to say).

That worst-ever year, the noise was literally nonstop. Between the sound of the billions upon billions of caterpillars chewing, and the sound of their constant pooping raining down on the ground, our neighborhood went from almost completely silent to a noise volume of living near a manufacturing plant, with motors running constantly - it was literally that loud and continuous, for weeks on end.

The forest was entirely denuded - nothing but twigs and branches left. It got so bad that once they’d eaten all the leaves off the trees they even started ate the needless off the pine trees.

5 Likes

and all those little black poo balls, everywhere. Probably good for the soil, but seriously gross.

2 Likes

Snicker, poo balls…

3 Likes