MAGA man wearing a desecrated flag shirt tells Good Liars he would never dis the flag (video)

Originally published at: MAGA man wearing a desecrated flag shirt tells Good Liars he would never dis the flag (video) | Boing Boing

3 Likes

Now question those who keep their nasty tattered flag up 24x7 with no lighting.

16 Likes

Where did this take place? I’m not a lawyer but if it happened in Washington D.C. then by section 3 of Title 4 Chapter 1 of the US Code, shouldn’t he “be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine not exceeding $100 or by imprisonment for not more than thirty days, or both, in the discretion of the court.”?

I wonder if there’s a market for something like a pad of cards that superficially resembles a citation that has the items in section 8 (“Respect for flag”) listed with checkboxes. If you see someone violating one or more of those rules, tick the appropriate boxes and hand it to that person. Arguably this person would be in violation of d, g, and j and perhaps e and i.

8 Likes

Thank you for posting this.
And… glad someone besides me felt compelled to mention the U.S. Flag Code.
It’s not hard, peeps.

How ironic that MAGA man has such interesting bedfellows:

(source)

Abbie Hoffman was arrested in 1968 for wearing a… flag… shirt. This event is more than it sounds:

The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Air Force General Richard Myers, joined the parade, which rumbled toward the national mall for a wreath-laying ceremony at the Vietnam War Memorial. He was wearing a shirt emblazoned with the American flag.

Ah, if only Abbie Hoffman could have witnessed that.

In October 1968, he was arrested in Washington for wearing a shirt that resembled the design of an American flag. Authorities at the maximum security penitentiary did their worst to harass and humiliate him. They gave him a preventive de-lousing. They took a blood sample against his will, without affording him the sterile courtesy of a disposable syringe.