Michael Jackson's drummer performing Smooth Criminal

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/05/03/michael-jacksons-drummer-per.html

3 Likes

Easily and hands down my favorite Jackson tune.

(Remember the Time is second but only because of the video for it)

5 Likes

Henceforth Michael Jackson shall be referred to as “Sugarfoot’s singer.”

20 Likes

just don’t put a metronome to it.

just don’t put a metronome to it.

Why?

So many cymbals. And that ending.

2 Likes

You’ll hear a problem with many of Jacksons songs… well maybe less a problem and more of a feature. During bridges and breaks there is often a fraction of a second where the beat is off. Maybe it adds to the feel of the piece. But as a drummer myself it drives me batty.

2 Likes

Such economy of movement, and then the stick twirls throw me off.

1 Like

Oh, like when someone with perfect pitch is bothered by a microtone? When?

Oh man, wait til they find out about retarando, accelarando, and the fermata; they are gunna be pissed.

6 Likes

Oh man, wait til they find out about retarando, accelarando, and the fermata; they are gunna be pissed.

Sure, but also, just curious bc I’m spinning (bike) to this rn, usually my legs would notice, and I don’t have time to go all analytical today. Help me out, anotherone
Thanks

That’s really cool - I legit thought all Michael Jackson music was synth and drum machines.

2 Likes

I’ve been learning drums myself and opened myself up to the world of drumming badassery. Good drumming is so key, and it can be so subtle in a song like this. This also illustrates a huge reason why MJ is so “good”. Professional musicians are the secret sauce of popular music. At least they were. I suppose they mostly work in the country and adult contemporary genres nowadays. It seems that people that play machines are at the forefront of pop music now. Not that there’s not a lot of talented people doing that as well.