New Cintiq drawing tablets cost a pretty penny

Originally published at: New Cintiq drawing tablets cost a pretty penny | Boing Boing

2 Likes

I bought a cintiq a couple years ago and I never use it. Runs in resolution emulation mode which makes some pro gfx software freak out. It’s just a super expensive paperweight now and takes up a ton of space on my desk but I can’t seem to bring myself to get rid of it.

2 Likes

Rob, I have the Huion Camvas you linked for painting - it’s good - but suggest you try an iPad with the Pencil. Regular 10" ipad. Procreate is a fantastic example of calm software, just enough tooling to paint and get immersed, and the Apple stylus (either version) feels pretty flawless. I found that the portability was a big deal for recreational evening drawing over the tethered flavors.

5 Likes

Agreed - I like the largest iPad personally but procreate is hard to beat for painting. Maybe if I was a professional matte painter, or worked for a game company that paid for it. The beauty of the iPad is it works great for note taking, email, video editing, 3D modeling, etc. about 75% of what I do. Still use a MacBook for figma, and creative cloud (PS,AI, AE, PR) but even there the illustrator for iPad often meets my needs.

1 Like

If you’re in Los Angeles, you can rent one from Mac Hollywood for about $200/week or try them in their showroom on Sunset Bl.

2 Likes

I have a newer-ish Intuos model and I enjoy it. I’ve always wanted the Cintiq ones but they’re just so unbelievably expensive it’s not really feasible for anyone unless they’re loaded or professionals

1 Like

Saw this mentioned on the former bird site, the consensus was that since companies like Huion and others are making just as good ones for cheaper, Wacom might as well go full bore with the pricier display tablets.
I mean $550 for a 16’ from huion ($400 on amazon) or $1600 from Wacom for a similar display.

2 Likes