Professor who blocked a student reporter from reporting last year has been charged with assault

[Read the post]

2 Likes

5 Likes

Good. About time.

11 Likes

The journalist did a solid professional job in a tough, intimidating situation. I like that he kept cool and repeated, “Please don’t push me.”

As activists, we need to ask each other better questions about safeguarding fairness while pursuing social change.

23 Likes

“Blocked a student reporter” being a euphemism for “tried to call in a beat down”

22 Likes

I’m pretty sure that if I instigated the assault of a faculty member as a student I would be unwelcome back to that campus.

Holding such an opinion leaves me really wondering why the fuck she still has a job.

25 Likes

Because tenure

:smiley_cat: Sure. We’ve gotten pretty sensitive on what counts as a “beat down” since popular front days. But okay.

2 Likes

Easy. It’s just a video. She can’t hurt us.

1 Like

I’m still totally confused as to why protesters, any protesters, would not want journalists to report on their protests. I always thought the whole point if a protest was to communicate. Even critical journalism raises the profile of a protest.

5 Likes

If I recall, she is an assistant professor. That’s the entry-level position for someone on a tenure-track. It typically goes:

Assistant Professor -> Associate Professor -> Professor (tenured)

That is, she doesn’t have tenure. The university can fire her, they just chose not to.

10 Likes

Thanks for the correction.

Fair nuff but what other possible meaning could “can we get some muscle” have in context?

4 Likes

Yes, why not negotiate with offer for an exclusive interview and some video. He seemed to know what he was doing. He may have agreed, and the communities they were demonstrating to help may have liked that outcome better than the Stalin-sends-thugs-to-crush-journalism story that memed instead. The activists acted like a bunch of (so loveable!!) amateurs.

1 Like