Site promises to teach your parrot to recite the Communist Manifesto

Originally published at: Site promises to teach your parrot to recite the Communist Manifesto | Boing Boing

6 Likes

OMG, if I was a birb person I would totally name it Comrade Crackers!

(I like birbs, just not in captivity.)

10 Likes

So that you can return to a polyshevik revolution in progress?

9 Likes

Parrots, united, shall never be defeated.

5 Likes

I seriously doubt these things work-- they used to sell those “teach your bird” LPs, and my impression was the bird needs a living human connection to recognize it as communication. There may be some exceptions, like mynah birds. (Not that I’m an expert, cue the birders to set me straight in 3… 2… 1…)

That said, it would be kinda funny to hear standard communist quotes coming from a bird all the time.

“Bwaaawk workers of the world unite!! The history of society is the history of class struggles! BWaaawk bwaaawk!”

4 Likes

It’s not the same unless it’s read in the original German.

5 Likes

Give me a go with a crow and Errico Malatesta’s Anarchy and I’ll see what I can do

If that succeeds then I’ll try Kropotkin’s The Conquest of Bread. Crows already understand mutual aid so it might work.

8 Likes

Yeah, right.

Maybe not.

No kidding.

By the same logic, leaving a tv or radio on would result in the parrot babbling whatever was played.
It doesn’t work that way. It’s just background noise, as far as the bird is concerned.
Now, the bird might pick up small snippets if they were played over & over & over, but the bird won’t memorize the whole thing in one listen, any more than a human would.

1 Like

If stand-up is left repeating all day, will the bird learn to recognize a joke?

4 Likes

Squawktober Revolution

3 Likes

The Walking Dead Giggles GIF by The Paley Center for Media

3 Likes