Software for using your head movements to control your cursor

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/12/05/software-for-using-your-head-movements-to-control-your-cursor.html

1 Like

As a software developer, I appreciate what he’s doing. But I’m wondering how long it will take the MIDI association to contact him about the name, now that he’s got this level of exposure.

3 Likes

I’m sure chiropractors and massage therapists would be very happy to see this gain in popularity. Like voice navigation, it just tends to shift the strain to another part of the body. I also wonder about undo functions, to avoid actions happening when the user’s facial expression is just a response to something on the screen. :nerd_face:

3 Likes
3 Likes

Oh wow this is soooooo cool, thanks for writing about this!

I started working on this in 2018 while homeless in order to help a resident at a shelter who was there recovering from a stroke use the web handsfree (his family lived in Texas and he had no real way of communicating to them without a translator, since he couldn’t type or speak clearly). I’ve had a pretty intense journey since then, including a visit by Google PAIR at the shelter and a 2 week residency at Carnegie Mellon (I didn’t even have a coat at the time when I was flown in during the frosty winter there haha)

My goal right now is to discover a sort of framework or “common language” for interacting with devices handsfree, particularly for creative and accessibility purposes. A lot of ideas are borrowed from VR/WebXR, only using a computer screen or projector instead of a headset. I’m currently focused on the desktop/browser but I’ve also done experiments with robots and drones too!

Anyways as a developer it’s a super cool feeling to see someone write about your work, and I really appreciate it!