Stay or go? This comprehensive Netflix 2024 trailer should answer the question (video)

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/02/01/stay-or-go-this-comprehensive-netflix-2024-trailer-should-answer-the-question-video.html

I mean, obligs, right?

10 Likes

One thing that Netflix does better than other streaming services is foreign shows. I am studying Japanese language it’s great to be able to watch movies and series in Japanese with subtitles. Other services have great anime offerings, but Netflix has a big selection of live action dramas in Japanese. I’ve noticed other countries are well represented, from Korea to Scandanavia. But maybe language learning is a pretty niche reason to subscribe to a streaming service.

6 Likes

Well, they’re certainly not making a convincing case with this video, anyways.

Yeah, and this is most of what I’m watching, and pretty much the entire reason I keep it. (And I’m not trying to learn any languages.)

3 Likes

As long as they’re putting out sandman… yes.

6 Likes

I really like the foreign (to me) shows. I get enough of American “culture” from every other source in my life, and I enjoy seeing stories told from someone else’s perspective.

2 Likes

I did enjoy the red envelope days.

At its height, the disc library was magnificent, with SO many obscure movies and TV shows. It was well over 100k titles, and streaming was never even close. It really stung when they finally ceased shipping.

I still have their streaming service, but I’m grumpy about it.

pour one out

11 Likes

Looks a solid meh. The red envelopes also made getting the mail a lot more fun!

2 Likes

So the four big streaming services available here in NZ are Netflix, Neon (which shows HBO and some of the US Network shows), Apple+, and Prime. So we just sign up for one at a time for about 3 or 4 months, cancel it, then move on to the next.