Texas high schoolers compete in varsity barbecue

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/11/09/texas-high-schoolers-compete-i.html

4 Likes

Ok…finally Texas does something I am completely on board with. Good on them for this!!

21 Likes

This is awesome :slight_smile: learning the welding skills is pretty great too as a side thing. The welder at my work made an incredible smoker last month for a charity raffle, that thing was built like a tank and looks great.

17 Likes

It’s been many moons since I graduated from high school, and until 5 minutes ago I had NEVER been jealous of anyone’s varsity letter. That is double plus good!

14 Likes

Carolina’s gonna kick their big Texan ass.

6 Likes

If you like inferior BBQ…

jk, I don’t have any preference on BBQ style as long as its good.

8 Likes

I misread that as, “Texas High School Shooters compete in varsity barbecue”. That idea didn’t seem too outlandish in the current climate.

3 Likes

Sounds like a Modest Proposal my good sir…

5 Likes

The world would be a better place if this replaced football as the premier competition in Texas. Sure, you’d replace concussions with coronaries, but what a way to go!

7 Likes

Completely subjective there. I like a mustard sauce just fine. And I am absolutely sure plenty of others would say Memphis or Kansas City will kick both Carolina and Texas asses.

I personally prefer Texas style BBQ. I like dry rub for seasoning and a light wet sauce for mopping. Give me Mueller’s beef short ribs or Aaron Franklin’s brisket any day of the week. Kreuz market’s sausage is amazing too.

After Texas…I like Kansas City bbq. I love the sweet/spicy/tangy mix in a good sauce.

5 Likes

Made me look up “varsity”, I’ve often heard it on the telly and been vaguely confused.

2 Likes

The commentary would be odd.

“It is the forth course, and the heat is draining out of those coals, can the Austin Basters manage to get those patties to brown?!”

6 Likes