The $7 vertical ergonomic mouse is not awful

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/06/26/the-7-vertical-ergonomic-mous.html

2 Likes

Can’t speak to this make/model, but I’ve been using an Evoluent 2 vertical mouse for 8 years.
It is awesome, and I have never regretted the switch.

2 Likes

Have you tried trackball mice, such as the Logitech M570? Just curious if that has helped or not.

1 Like

I recommend a trackball. I’ve been using one for years for my incipient RSI in conjunction with a variable-height chair with arms, positioned so that I can rest my elbows and forearms on the chair arms, extend my hand out horizontally and manipulate the trackball without having to hold my hand or arm muscles rigid or bend my hand up at the wrist. I generally use the trackball with my non-dominant hand and switch it from time to time. Sitting the trackball on the under-desk keyboard tray puts it at the right height in conjunction with the chair.

I was worried about RSI too, but Instead of getting a weird mouse, I just learned to use the mouse left-handed. It was a little bit weird for a few weeks, but now I am completely ambixtrous with the mouse and swap back back and forth a couple of times a day.

I started doing that around the turn of the millennium, not because of that but because the mouse cable wouldn’t reach, and stuck by it. It’s actually very practical as it leaves the right hand free for the numbers pad or a pen.

It’s very easy to get used to it, and no problem to switch between different computers running in right hand mode / left hand mode.

The trick is to

• set the mouse to left hand mode
    and
    -train yourself that “left click” = “use index finger” and “right click” = “use middle finger”

That way you can switch between modes without thinking about it, your muscle memory will do the work for you.