The "numbers station" of Youtube?

The YouTube channel for the user “Webdriver Torso” contains over 77,000 videos, each 11 seconds in length, with a series of one second pitches, each accompanied by a frame containing nothing but one blue and one red rectangle on a white background. No one seems to have any idea where this channel came from, who the user is, or what the purpose of the videos might be. “Webdriver” is the name of a product in the Selenium suite of browser automation tools (for instance, used to test performance and stability of a web application), and it’s plausible that this is the very tool used to automate the uploading of the videos to YouTube.

This is begging for an analysis of the data represented in these videos. For anyone fascinated by numbers stations but frustrated that they missed the heyday of the Cold War, this might just be your chance! I’m a developer, but this falls well outside my areas of expertise…but I’d be happy to try to cooperate with anyone interested.

6 Likes

cool. bumping thread for interest

Maybe get this person to help?

1 Like

You know, more and more I’m seeing smart Aussies doing clever tech stuff. It’s amazing - feels like everywhere I look!

1 Like

[Permalink]

It’s probably some guy with 100 cats in a trailer trying to communicate with aliens.

5 Likes

Did I just get nam-shubbed?

The article was close, I bet it’s some kind of automated testing thing- some company (possibly even YouTube itself) makes a product that uploads video to YouTube, and they need an automated way to test it, so a short video that can be programmatically verified as being accurately reproduced is created and uploaded and then tested.

1 Like

But it still leaves me wondering why they need to do that 77,000 times in a year. That’s 200ish times a day, right? Seems like a lot of quality control.

That said, I want this to be fun and slightly nefarious and a solvable thing, so I’m all about disregarding the simplest answer.

4 Likes